Skip to content

you remind me of Him and that’s why I love you

October 1, 2010

In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful

This evening, I opened the cabinet in my living room and browsed through some of my old books. I got them all when I was back in the US. Out of those many books, I took out this particular one: “Al-Ghazali The Ninety-Nine Beautiful Names of God. al-maqsad al-asna fi sharh asma Allah al-husna.” translated with notes by David Burrel and Nazih Daher.

I opened the very first page and in it, there’s a scribbled note written by the previous owner. The note goes something like this

“Ya Allah, indeed You are beautiful and You love beauty. Please grant me a beautiful heart so that I can show it to You when the time of our ‘Appointment’. ”

The note continues

“Fariza dearie…

Jazakumullaahu khairan katheera for everything. Indeed the ukhuwwah that Allah subhaanahu wa ta ‘aala blessed us with is so special. May Allah ta ‘alaa strengthen our ukhuwwah and make it for the sake of Him only. ameen.

love you! uhibbuki fillaah abadan abadaa…

-signature of the owner.

Jumada-II 18, 1425

Today, the note reminds of me the beautiful and serene feelings i once had when I was in New York, back when I was learning my religion.

Today, the note reminds me of an old, far-flung friend, who used to own this book.

Today, the note reminds me of all the priceless memories of us together.

Today, the note reminds me of all the lessons and knowledge she had taught me. Not necessarily through lectures but through her actions and behaviors.

And today my friend, I feel that love again towards you. Simply because you remind me of my Lord.

May Allah bless you and your family and reward you for all your good deeds towards me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

