Skip to content

A reading compilation

February 2, 2010

In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful

I am making a compilation of my readings for the past few months. These excerpts have created a deep impact within me, so much so that i have decided to allow it to change either my mindset or behavior in every day lives.

ONE

“We have a choice in this world. We can either get addicted to this *dunya, which we will leave after 60-80 years of life along with everything in it, or we can get addicted to seeking knowledge, which will reap heavy rewards on the Day of Judgement. The path of this dunya leads us away from Allah, and the path of knowledge leads us towards Allah. Likewise, the path of this dunya destroys our Hereafter, and the path of knowledge secures our Hereafter. The choice is entirely ours.” -Kanika Aggarwal, from an article entitled “Blessings of Seeking Knowledge”, www.suhaibwebb.com

Speaking of seeking knowledge, there will be a seminar held by Al-Kauthar Institute next weekend in APIIT, Technology Park Malaysia. The class “The World of the Unseen” will be conducted by a Canadian-born, Ustadh Yahya Ibrahim. I have attended the previous Al-Kauthar’s class (Lord of the Worlds by Syakh Tawfique Chowdry) and I had an awesome and enlightening experience (& knowledge)! More info on the course can be found here: www.alkauthar.org *Dunya = Arabic word for “world”.

TWO

Often times, we are blessed with incredible feelings of profundity, awe, and grateful servitude when worshiping Our Creator. These feelings and states are mentioned in virtually all the books of tazkiyyah (purifying the soul). However, we should always strive to worship our Lord whether that feeling comes in a prayer or not, whether the khutbah is intellectually and spiritually stimulating, or not. The worship is to obey Allah’s command, not to chase a spiritual or intellectual high. One of the greatest mistakes of the saalik (one seeking spiritual closeness to God), is to focus on the spiritual high, and not on the worship itself. If the spiritual high ever falters, he begins to doubt his worship and may even become lazy in it. He has made his goal the feeling, not the actual act of obedience and submission to Allah.” – Abdul Sattar, in an article entitled “How to Survive (and Then Benefit From) A Boring *Khutbah”, www.suhaibwebb.com

Very true indeed. I would like to emphasize this phrase: “The worship is to obey Allah’s command, not to chase a spiritual or intellectual high”. *Khutbah = Arabic word for “Sermon

THREE

“You don’t know what a person really thinks until you hear his or her advice. Along these lines, if you really want to know what a person thinks, ask for advice and he or she will open up.” -Tyler Cowen, through Ben Casnocha.

Ben added more by saying

FOUR

“Your mother may know you best but she may not know your industry. The domain expert knows the market but doesn’t know your individual preferences or history. Conclusion: Get advice first from the domain expert to get a model and assess your choices. Then consult the person who really knows you to understand which choice makes most sense for you.”

This is from a wonderful plus awesome article entitled “14 Thoughts on Advice Giving and Receiving”, www.ben.casnocha.com.I believe that after all the advices you’ve received and when it comes to make a real decision, it goes back to your mind processing power AND your instinct; what your brain and your instinct tell you to do after taking all the information that you have gained into consideration. Oprah Winfrey used to say in one of her shows about following your instinct (paraphrasing): “Follow your instinct, that’s why you have them in the first place”.

FIVE

“We drove to California near the end of the month. When we arrived, on December 31, it was eighty-five degrees, and the Santa Ana winds whipped against the rickety walls of our motel room. A single cricket chirped in the bathroom all night. During the day, several crows cawed at us when we walked to our car. Lynnie had always thought crickets and even crows were good luck. Now and then I thought I heard Lynn’s lively voice. The cricket sang, “Chirp! Chirp!” but I heard *Kira-Kira!” The crows called “Caw! Caw!” and I heard “Kira-Kira!” The wind whistled “Whoosh! Whoosh!” and I heard “Kira-Kira!” My sister had taught me to look at the world that way, as a place that glitters, as a place where the calls of crickets and the crows and the wind are everyday occurrences that also happen to be magic.

I wished Lynn could have lived to see the sea with us! When we first walked up to the Pacific Ocean, the tears welled up in my eyes and her death seemed near. I don’t think anyone understood as well as I did how badly Lynn had longed to walk along the water the way the family and I did that New Year’s Day. I hid my tears from my parents. But the water started to make me feel happy again. Here at the sea – especially at the sea- I could hear my sister’s voice in the waves: “Kira-Kira! Kira-Kira!

This is taken from my all-time favorite novel, Kira-Kira, written by the talented author Cynthia Cadohata. This is the only book (so far) that is able to make me laugh from the beginning until the most end and cry at the end of it. Amazing, amazing book I must say! *Kira-Kira = Japanese word for “Glittering/Some that glitters”

SIX

“We all have dreams..We all want to believe deep down in our souls that we have a special gift, that we can make a difference, that we can touch others in a special way, and that we can make the world a better place. At one time in our lives, we all had a vision for the quality of life that we desire and deserve. Yet, for many of us, those dreams have become so shrouded in the frustrations and routine of daily life that we no longer even make an effort to accomplish them. For far too many, the dream has dissipated – and with it, so has the will to shape our destinies. Many have lost that sense of certainty that created the winner’s edge. My life’s quest has been to restore the dream and to make it real, to get each of us to remember and use the unlimited power that lies sleeping within all of us.”

I know I have just taken a pessimistic excerpt from a very positive book, Awaken The Giant Within, written by Anthony Robbins, but this is the first paragraph that I read that made me go “Okay, let me read this book till the end and see if I can get any practical tips on how to be an awesome human being!”. That’s the reason why I have it here. Hopefully, you will go and get a copy of this book for yourself, because I can honestly say that this book is very moving. The points given make sense, they are supported with valid and sound research, equipped with inspiring true stories from the already rich, famous and successful public fgures and it gives you a clear guidance on how to be successful (on how to awaken the giant of power within you!)

There you go! Enjoy and have a great February! =)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

