Skip to content

I Threw My Business Idea Into the Dustbin

May 5, 2009
In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

I always know that I am not destined to work with the government. Hey, don’t get me wrong. There’s nothing wrong working with the government. It is as noble as it can be. It is just that I feel like I am not suitable enough for such environment. When people ask me why, I will simply say this ” I can’t imagine myself going to work at eight in the morning, sitting at the table, working on an excel or a word document and at at the end of the day, still not being able to visibly see the impact that I am about to create through those documents.” I just can’t do it. This is exactly the explanation for why I decided to work with a start-up company at the moment. Even though the task might be as simple as adding the “click-to-chat” button onto the official website, but the value that I am about to create is visibly huge. Just imagine the real-time communication between potential clients and the salesperson that I am about to create. I don’t think that being a fresh graduate and having to work at a big corporate, I will be allowed to access the company’s server and creatively create a button and goes as advance as changing the layout of the website. I am 85.5% certain that they will not allow me to do that.

I also always know that I want to do business one day. What kind of business? I am not sure yet myself. I am still brainstorming. Interestingly enough, since I graduated four months ago, I managed to came up with several business ideas. Some of the ideas that came to my mind are:

1) To initiate a nonprofit organization – specifically, Muslims Soup Kitchen – Malaysia version.
2) To open childcare centers at the currently mushrooming business parks in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur (I perceive this as a very expensive business plan, think about the costs of hiring a doctor, children psychologist, professional teachers, etc).
3) To open a photocopy/stationery shop near my house. There are two schools nearby (one is a primary and another is a secondary school) and my little brother told me that most of his friends have to go to another place (situated approximately three to four kilometer from our house) to make photocopies, to buy their stationery items as well as their scrapbook materials).
4) To start up an IT-service-based company (very vague, i know).

I just learned that even though you have tons of business ideas, it all goes down to the concrete, well-built business plan. The other day, my colleague went to a business seminar and he told us that it is actually very hard to have a good business plan. Sometimes, a stranger might pick up a piece of paper from the dustbin, read the business plan written on that paper and goes “hey, this is an impressive plan”. But still, the paper was thrown straight into the dustbin by the writer in the first place.

The book that I am reading at the moment (Start Up! by Liz Jackson) is very handy because it provides practical tips on how to start up a business and it is also full of inspiring stories. Did I tell you that Liz Jackson is an owner of a 2 million pound worth company in the UK named Great Guns Marketing. Oh and by the way, she is a blind woman!

postscript: I don’t think I can stand being in an air-conditioned office for hours. So, my friend told me to be a gym instructor instead. I went “erkk..”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 4:14 am

    Hi!

    Any luck deciding what to do? I think a lot of people have several vague business ideas playing in their head, but all want the security of a stable income.

    How’s that book by Liz Jackson? Has it got you a full start up business plan yet? If so, how long does it take to make one?

    I bought a book by Harvard University Press (sounds impressive huh?) about business plans, read like 10-20 pages, got bored then misplaced it =-P

    You might check out “Career Renegade” by Jonathan Fields as well, it has a LOT of interesting ideas.

    Hehe, sorry to be so questioning, just curious…

    Regards
    Mark
    http://earlychildcare.wordpress.com/

  2. leolumpy permalink*
    November 20, 2009 12:48 am

    Wow, this reply of mine is long overdue. Anyway to answer you question, few ideas come and go (as always) but none has been executed.

    The other day, i was thinking about providing taxi services specially for women. I thought of having pink cars with women drivers going around the city areas, especially in Kuala Lumpur. Although it is not confirmed to be safe, but at least i thought women could be at peace again when it comes to public transportation. Few days later, i found out that the same idea has been implemented in Mexico! Interesting eh?

    Thanks for the book recommendation. FYI, i am falling in love with “Awakening the Entereneur Within’ by Michael Gerber. The book is amazing!

Leave a Reply

